Blood is thicker than water…

“Blood is thicker than water” is a German proverb (originally: Blut ist dicker als Wasser.), which is also common in English speaking countries. It generally means that the bonds of family and common ancestry are stronger than those bonds between unrelated people (such as friendship).

They tell each everything, confiding their innermost thoughts and secrets in each other. Their bond is so strong that noone on Earth could tear them apart, not even their respective partners take precedence (nor should they wish to).

They have their own in-jokes and have shared their childhoods and all-important adolescence together. There is noone like them.

They are brother and sister.

Watching with a touch of the green-eyed monster, I observed my fiancé and his younger sister’s closeness as he was the first person she could turn to when distressed.

“That’s how it should be,” I thought to myself. I’m not envious because I’m an only child, yet rather because I feel the best way to describe my younger brother and I is “a love-hate relationship”.

While sibling rivalry is perfectly normal when you’re growing up, the general consensus is that it’s a phase that we should have grown out by the time we reach our mid-twenties.

Since I first left home for my Spanish Erasmus experience aged twenty, my tumultuous relationship with my brother remarkably improved and went on improving throughout my emancipation at university in Southampton and subsequently moving to Spain six years ago.

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder and, although there was plenty of bickering and some major tiffs, we always made up.

In December he came to visit me with his new girlfriend and one such tiff ocurred and we fell out but despite apparently talking normally since then, there is an elephant in the room.

I’m saddened by this turn of events and, having just found out that my future sister-in-law has cancer, even more so. I hope this gives him some food for thought as I’ve held out an olive branch by phoning him and suggesting meeting up this summer in England.

There’s only so much I can do… Now the ball’s in his court. Watch this space.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Noel
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 20:52:41

    Congratulations on your new blog darling!!!

    I really love to read your blog.

    Thanks for being by my side in the hardest moments.

    Love you XXX

    Reply

  2. catscream
    Jun 10, 2011 @ 20:17:05

    Thanks darling!!!

    I’m glad you like it 🙂

    I really ought to post more often but too busy…

    It’s always a pleasure being by your side. Keep your chin up – everything will work out fine I’m sure.

    Love you more x x x x

    Reply

  3. catscream
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 15:41:29

    So today I received an e-mail from him and to say it was disappointing is an understatement!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

